The VETASSESS Test - Nursing

A pre-entry test for the Diploma of Nursing (Enrolled/Division 2 Nursing)

The VETASSESS Test - Nursing is recognised on a national level and has been established to help Registered Training Organisations (RTOs) identify the reading and numeracy competency of candidates for course entry.

The test is aligned to the Australian Core Skills Framework (ACSF) which is the recognised standard for adult literacy and numeracy in Australia. The ACSF is the main assessment tool for the Australian Government’s Workplace English Language and Literacy (WELL) Program and the Skills for Education and Employment (SEE) Program. It provides a consistent national approach to help identify and develop the core skills in three key areas:

  • Personal and community
  • Workplace and employment
  • Education and training

To find out whether you need to complete the VETASSESS Test - Nursing, please contact your RTO.


The VETASSESS Test - Nursing comprises the following components:

Literacy 30 minutes 40 Questions A multiple-choice test of reading and writing concepts
Numeracy 30 minutes 40 Questions A multiple-choice test of concepts around working with numbers
English Writing Skills 45 minutes 3 Tasks Reading and comprehension test to demonstrate literacy competency

VETASSESS is Australia's Leading Vocational Education & Training Provider (VET) Assessment Provider

nationally recognised training logo
mia logo
tra logo