Important note

We will not be accepting any new applications for the Trades Recognition Service (TRS) from 2 November 2020 as Trades Recognition Australia (TRA) will be closing this service.

There are arrangements and alternative pathways available to current and potential TRS applicants.

If you already have a pending application with VETASSESS:

We will continue your assessment in line with the standard process and timelines. Please note that there might be some delays due to COVID-19 constraints.

If you haven’t lodged your application yet:

We recommend that you apply under the Offshore Skills Assessment Program (OSAP) or the Temporary Skill Shortage (TSS) program. Please refer to our website at for further details.

Please note that Australian citizens/passport holders are not eligible for the skills assessment programs offered by Trades Recognition Australia.

If you are an Australian passport holder and your occupation is a non-licensed trade in Australia, you can apply for Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) with a registered training organisation (RTO) or TAFE, such as VETASSESS. Please contact for further information. If your occupation is a licensed trade (for example, Airconditioning and Refrigeration Mechanic, Electrician or Plumber), you are advised to contact the relevant regulator in a state or territory of your residence for further advice and guidance.

Trades Recognition Service

If you're a skilled worker and seek a formal qualification or an Offshore Technical Skills Record (OTSR) for employment or licensing purposes, you may apply for a skills assessment through the Trades Recognition Service.

VETASSESS offers the Trades Recognition Service in Victoria, New South Wales, the Northern Territory, Western Australia and Queensland.

To be eligible to be assessed under this program, you:

  • reside in Australia
  • are a tradesperson working in one of the occupations assessed in this program (see list below)
  • meet the employment experience requirements for your occupation (please review the Fact Sheet for your occupation for more information)
  • have worked in your occupation for at least 12 months within the last 3 years
  • do not have an Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF) qualification relevant to your occupation
  • do not require a skills assessment for migration.

If you are not eligible for the Trades Recognition Service, you may be eligible to apply for our National Skills Assessment Service or Skills Assessment for Migration programs.

Occupations assessed in the Trades Recognition Service

  • Air-conditioning and Refrigeration Mechanic
  • Electrician (General)
  • Electrician (Special Class)
  • Fitter
  • Metal Fabricator
  • Metal Machinist (First Class)
  • Motor Mechanic
  • Sheetmetal Trades Worker
  • Welder (First Class)

Before you apply

1. Check that you are eligible to apply for a Trades Recognition Service assessment with VETASSESS.
2. Review the assessment process. 
3. Read the Fact Sheet for your occupation to see the skills and knowledge you need to demonstrate in your assessment.
4. Read the Evidence Guide to see the types of evidence you can provide. 
5. Read the Practical Assessment and Technical Interview guides to understand how you will be assessed. 
6. Check how much an assessment  costs.

Information about each of the above steps is provided on the following pages.