Designated Area Migration Agreements (DAMA)

Designated Area Migration Agreements (DAMAs) enable specific regions of Australia to hire a broader range of overseas workers than is available through the standard skilled visa programs.

DAMAs are agreements between the Australian Government and state and territory governments that allow variations to standard occupations and skills lists and/or negotiable concessions to visa requirements.

DAMA requests are considered on a case-by-case basis, and support the unique circumstances and labour market needs of the geographical region.

At VETASSESS, we assess a number of skilled and semi-skilled occupations under some DAMAs, for overseas workers who intend to migrate to Australia under the DAMA program. You can view the list of the occupations we assess under each DAMA or click here for the full list.

State/ Territory DAMA
WA Goldfields
South West
East Kimberley
VIC Great South Coast
Goulburn Valley
NSW Orana
QLD Far North Queensland

A DAMA is an employer-sponsored visa program that applies the labour agreement streams of the Temporary Shortage (TSS) subclass 482 visa and the Employer Nomination Scheme (ENS) subclass 186 visa.

Most DAMA occupations can be found on the Department of Home Affairs’ combined list of eligible skilled occupations for migration. If VETASSESS is the assessing authority for your intended occupation and the occupational skills assessment requirements are not exclusive to DAMAs only, please submit your online application under the full skills assessment application category. We will assess your application against our usual criteria for the general skilled migration program.

For those occupations available under the DAMA program only, in the Northern Territory and South Australia, please refer to their website for their DAMA occupation lists and requirements.

NEXT: Required Documents