VETASSESS provides skills assessments for 9 DAMAs

Posted on 8/4/2022 by tharakap VETASSESS in News

August 2022 – VETASSESS is assisting employers in regional Australia by conducting skills assessments for nine regions covered by a Designated Area Migration Agreement (DAMA).

DAMAs allow employers to hire workers with the specific skills needed in their region and they provide access to more overseas workers than the standard skilled migration program.

A DAMA is an agreement between a regional area and the Australian Government, and the occupations and skills criteria are specific to each region.

VETASSESS skills assessments support employers to hire staff for roles in aged and personal care services, horticulture and agriculture, hospitality, construction and many other industries.

VETASSESS has provided DAMA skills assessments since 2019. In 2022, more DAMAs were signed and the number of occupations covered were increased.

VETASSESS provides skills assessments for the following DAMAs:

  • New South Wales – Orana Regional Development Area
  • Victoria – Great South Coast, Goulburn Valley
  • Western Australia – East Kimberley, Goldfields, Pilbara, South West WA
  • Queensland – Far North Queensland, Townsville.

VETASSESS Executive Director Rob Thomason says that applications for DAMA skills assessments are increasing as people planning to migrate to Australia discover the wide range of opportunities in the regions.

“Regional areas offer job opportunities and a great community lifestyle in iconic areas of Australia,” he said.

For more information on the DAMA occupations assessed by VETASSESS visit this page.

For the full list of DAMAs and all DAMA occupations, visit the Department of Home Affairs website.

Media inquiries to our communications team at:, or ph. 61 9655 4801


For more than 25 years VETASSESS has provided tailored, independent assessment services to governments, education sectors and industries globally.

We have pioneered assessment services to recognise and verify individuals’ qualifications, skills and experience for migration purposes against the requirements of 360 professional and 28 trade occupations.